Thursday, February 12, 2015

Jim Butcher's The Cinder Spires has a Release Date!

Jim Butcher, author of the incredibly popular The Dresden Files series of novels, and the less-popular-but-also-awesome Codex Alera series, has been teasing us for years now that he's working on a third series now that Codex Alera is finished. We knew it was called The Cinder Spires, and we knew it was a steampunk series, but beyond that not much was known. Until today - today we have a release date.

Roc Books, who now own the rights to the series thanks to Executive Editor Anne Sowards, made the announcement this week that the book would be released on September 29th, 2015. The first book is called The Aeronaut's Windlass, which is a damn exciting name for the book. Check out the rest of their press release:

Sowards describes The Cinder Spires as, "Horatio Hornblower meets The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen—it's a fantastic, creative new series of airships, privateers, warrior monks, and mad sorcerers. Honestly, it's like Jim put all my favorite things in one book!" Here's a synopsis:
The Cinder Spires is set in a fascinating new world, where an ancient evil has awoken, plunging the world into a shroud of mists filled with monstrous and fantastic creatures. The fate of humanity will rest on the loyalty and courage of a single airship's crew. New York Times bestselling author David Weber said, "This is Jim Butcher at his best…It's steampunk meets magic with a dose of sci-fi for seasoning."
The Cinder Spires: THE AERONAUT'S WINDLASS is poised to be one of the fall's biggest genre releases, and Butcher fans are anxiously awaiting news about the release. Perfect for readers of Brandon Sanderson and Naomi Novik—in addition to Butcher's existing fans— The Cinder Spires is a grand new adventure from one of the biggest names in fantasy.
 A swashbuckling adventure set on an airship? Oh yes, please. 

No comments:

Post a Comment